of transactions entered into by the department pursuant to the provisions of this chapter. The director shall have the full power to invest and reinvest such funds in those classes of securities described in the provisions of RCW 43.84.150.

NEW SECTION. Sec. 9. No application for participation in the program provided for in this chapter shall be accepted by the department later than December 31, 1976.

NEW SECTION. Sec. 10. Section 1 and sections 3 through 9 of this 1975 amendatory act shall constitute a new chapter in Title 75 RCW.

NEW SECTION. Sec. 11. This 1975 amendatory act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, and safety, the support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and shall take effect immediately.

Passed the House May 15, 1975.
Passed the Senate May 23, 1975.
Approved by the Governor June 2, 1975.
Filed in Office of Secretary of State June 2, 1975.

CHAPTER 153

[House Bill No. 1031]
LINCOLN COUNTY JUSTICES OF THE PEACE—
REDUCTION IN NUMBER

AN ACT Relating to justices of the peace; and amending section 10, chapter 299, Laws of 1961 as last amended by section 1, chapter 14, Laws of 1973 1st ex. sess. and RCW 3.34.010.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Washington:

Section 1. Section 10, chapter 299, Laws of 1961 as last amended by section 1, chapter 14, Laws of 1973 1st ex. sess. and RCW 3.34.010 are each amended to read as follows:

The number of justices of the peace to be elected in each county shall be: Adams, three; Asotin, one; Benton, two; Chelan, one; Clallam, one; Clark, four; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, two; Douglas, one; Ferry, two; Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, one; Grays Harbor, two; Island, three; Jefferson, one; King, twenty; Kitsap, two; Kittitas, two; Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, ((two)) one; Mason, one; Okanogan, two; Pacific, three; Pend Oreille, two; Pierce, eight; San Juan, one; Skagit, three; Skamania, one; Snohomish, eight; Spokane, eight; Stevens, two; Thurston, one; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, three; Whatcom, two; Whitman, two; Yakima, six: PROVIDED, That this number may be increased in accordance with a resolution of the county commissioners under RCW 3.34.020.

Passed the House May 12, 1975. Passed the Senate May 23, 1975. Approved by the Governor June 2, 1975. Filed in Office of Secretary of State June 2, 1975.